Monday, April 28, 2014

Applications for the FTRF Banned Books Week event grants close Wednesday, April 30.

REMINDER! Applications for the Freedom to Read Foundation’s Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund Banned Books Week event grants close this Wednesday, April 30.


Krug Fund Banned Books Week event grant applications are open through April 30

Applications are now open for the 2014 Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund Banned Books Week event grants, sponsored by the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF). Organizations are encouraged to apply for grants of $1,000 and/or $2,500 in support of "Read-Outs” or other activities that celebrate Banned Books Week (Sept. 21–27, 2014).

Applications for the grants will be accepted through April 30, 2014, and the announcements will be made in June.

The Freedom to Read Foundation
the First Amendment legal defense affiliate of the American Library Associationis an official sponsor of Banned Books Week.

This is the fifth year Krug Fund Banned Books Week event grants will be given. A total of 28 grants have been given to date to support a wide variety of engaging, provocative, and fun events celebrating the freedom to read. Check out photos and videos from last year's events at Photos from all 28 projects at are available on FTRF's Facebook page and Flickr stream; more information about all the funded events can be found at

Organizations are required to submit an event description, timeline and budget with their application; they also will agree to provide a written report, photos and video from their event(s) to FTRF following Banned Books Week. Only not-for-profit organizations may apply, although they need not have official 501(c)3 status. Krug Fund grants cannot be used to buy computer hardware. Detailed grant guidelines are available on the application page.

Note: Organizations that received 2013 grants are ineligible to apply for 2014 grants.

For more information on Banned Books Week, challenges to materials in libraries and schools and resources for combating censorship, visit A compendium of thousands of books that have been banned and challenged can be found in the 2010 "Banned Books Resource Guide," available through the ALA Store: You also can purchase Banned Books Week posters, buttons, bookmarks, t-shirts, bracelets and tote bags there.

Contact Jonathan Kelley at with questions, or call (800) 545-2433, ext.4226.

Judith F. Krug, FTRF’s first executive director, was passionate about Banned Books Week and defending the freedom to read. After her death, the Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund was established to guarantee that the message of Banned Books Week would continue to spread and grow around the United States.

Friday, April 4, 2014

Gerald Hodges Intellectual Freedom Chapter Relations award winner announced

It is my pleasure to let you know that this year’s Gerald Hodges Intellectual Freedom Chapter Relations award will go to the New Jersey Library Association Intellectual Freedom Committee.  This was the unanimous choice of the ALA IF Coalition Building committee

This organization was selected for a body of work over many years that was highlighted by the assistance of Grayson Barber, Esq.  As stated in the application, “With Grayson’s guidance, NJLA has issued many policy statements,  legal memorandums and legal briefs on some of the most important Intellectual Freedom topics facing our members.  In addition,  as a member of the committee, Grayson has also been “on call” for any library facing an intellectual freedom challenge. She provided confidential assistance to libraries facing many legal issues but particularly providing  guidance to libraries receiving challenges associated with the  interpretation of  the New Jersey Confidentiality of Library Records Statutes.” 

The committee developed numerous statements which were adopted by NJLA and provided to its members on subjects including privacy, National Security Letters, confidentiality, children and libraries and charging for library services to help clarify and inform library staff.  They also provided many papers and programs on these subjects. 

NJLA Executive Director Pat Tumulty and current President Eileen Palmer will be at ALA to receive the award.